WhatsApp in 2017 came with a Delete for Everyone feature that enabled its users to delete messages after sending them to a user.
The feature allows WhatsApp users to delete messages for themselves as well as the receiver on the other end. The feature could be used for group chats as well.
A “This message was deleted” notification appears whenever users delete text, audio or video from their chat. However, sometimes, for iOS users photos and videos get saved in the photogallery. Now, there is an app that can let users see the deleted message.
A third-party workaround called WhatsRemoved+ can help users retrieve what was deleted. However, this app is not officially supported by WhatsApp should be used with cation. Moreover, it can access users data because that is how it reads WhatsApp messages, by actually monitoring notifications and the content shown in those notifications. That’s another reason to use it cautiously.
Here is how you can see the deleted WhatsApp messages:
— Download and install WhatsRemoved+ from Google Play Store.
— Open WhatsRemoved+ and allow permissions once you have read them.
— WhatsRemoved+ will ask you which apps would you want to give it access to.
— There will be a list of apps which will appear on your window.
— From the list, select the apps to which you want to give access including WhatsApp.
— Tap Yes, Save files and Click on Allow.
— Most of the time, images and videos are recoverable. However, If the image is not downloaded, it is not recoverable. However, downloaded messages can be recovered.
— Now, every notification received and other messaging apps can be accessed by using WhatsRemoved+ app on your phone.
— To access WhatsApp, users must open the WhatsRemoved+ app and use WhatsApp from the list of the apps they have chosen.
— The app detects a change in the notifications and will also notify you to tell you what has happened. The users must note that the app only saves notifications from the apps the user has manually selected.
WhatsApp users must note that there is no such app available for iOS and iPhone. The downside of this app is that your privacy will be at stake. This is because all your details including OTPs and bank balance details will be exposed to a third-party app. So, viewing deleted messages will cost you your privacy, in a way.
WhatsRemoved, this workaround’s predecessor, came out in 2018. It claims that its aim is to retrieve messages that were deleted by mistake by the user.